NIH | National Cancer Institute | NCI Wiki  
  • NCI Wiki is currently in READ-ONLY mode. Editing is restricted. Write access will be restored on March 4th, 2024.

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Introduction

In April of 2012 the National Clinical Trials Network (NCTN) built their first trials into Medidata Rave.  Currently there are approximately 150 trials in Rave.  Within that implementation a number of areas were standardized including core configuration, business rules, and integration with selected other systems and use of common data elements.  Reusable Case Report Forms (CRFs) with edit checks and custom functions using local standards were developed by each NCTN Group. 

The CRF harmonization activity was a conceptual effort focused on the entire NCI research community and the standards identified were by design not intended for a particular CDMS system.  The emphasis was on the creating a set of content to be housed in a repository for general and public use.

The NCTN agrees in principle that harmonization of the human readable content (PVMs) and coded values (PVs) in Common Data Elements (CDEs) is important to improve efficiency and effectiveness of clinical trial data management, streamline the Rave study build process and ensure that data can be shared across the NCTN and with the National Cancer Institute (NCI).  The NCTN encountered a number of limitations with the use of NCTN standards during the Rave implementation.

The Network Rave Data Standards (NRDS) Committee is being established to facilitate the implementation of selected CDEs specifically in Rave.  The target audience will be the members of the National Clinical Trials Network (NCTN) and Experimental Therapy Clinical Trials Network (ETCTN).  The work will be led by the NCI and NCTN.

NRDS Bulletins


Working Group Members

OrganizationRepresentativeEmail

Alternate Representative

Alt Email
AllianceShauna HillmanHillman.Shauna@mayo.eduKristina LaumannLaumann.Kristina@mayo.edu
ACRINBen HermanBenjamin_A_Herman@brown.edu

COGSmita SubramanianSSubramanian@childrensoncologygroup.orgSteven Jongsjong@childrensoncologygroup.org
ECOG-ACRINJudith Manolamanola.judi@jimmy.harvard.edu

Mary Vienneau

Tina Taylor

vienneau.mary@jimmy.harvard.edu

TTaylor@acr.org

ETCTNUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown
TheradexPeter ClarkPClark@theradex.com

Diana Vulih 

Pam Rapoport

dvulih@theradex.com

prapoport@theradex.com

NCICAnna Sadura asadura@ctg.queensu.caDora Nomikasdnomikos@ctg.queensu.ca
NRGJennifer Thomasthomasj@nrgoncology.org

Vanita Patel

Amy Krystkiewicz

patelv@nrgoncology.org

KrystkiewiczA@NRGOncology.org

SWOGAngela Smithangelas@crab.orgCathy Rankin crankin@fhcrc.org

Include Page
NRDS Quick Links
NRDS Quick Links

Panel
titleProject Documentation
Panel
titleNRDS Working Groups
Panel
titleContact Us