Skip Navigation
National Cancer Institute U.S. National Institutes of Health www.cancer.gov
NCI Wiki New Account Help Tips
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Overview

This page and its subpages contain presentations, agendas, and documents pertinent to the PRO-CTCAE initiative to develop a patient-reported outcomes version of the NCI's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE). 

Presently, in NCI-sponsored treatment trials, adverse events are documented using items from the CTCAE.  The CTCAE is a lexicon of 790 discrete items (>1000 in v3 and 790 in v4), representing laboratory tests, measurable phenomena (like temperature or blood pressure), and symptoms. Each item is graded with up to five ordinal response options, with each response option anchored to discrete clinical criteria (which may include information about severity, frequency, and/or interference with daily activities). By design, CTCAE items elicit the worst magnitude of a phenomenon being measured.

Currently, all CTCAE items are reported by research staff at clinic visits, including adverse symptoms. Patient self-reporting does not play a role. But evidence suggests that clinical staff systematically underreport symptoms compared to patients' own accounts. A further recognized limitation of the current approach is that adverse symptoms are only reported by staff at visits and not between visits, with up to several weeks elapsing between reporting instances.  Since the recall period for the CTCAE represents the entire period since the prior clinic visit, symptom information may be lost due to degradation of memory about intervening events.

To address limitations of the current model, in October 2008 the NCI awarded the first of two contracts to develop a patient-reported outcomes (PRO) version of the CTCAE.  The second contract was awarded in 2010.  These contracts were awarded to Dr. Ethan Basch as Principal Investigator at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (Dr. Basch subsequently moved primarily to University of North Carolina but remains Principal Investigator with the Coordinating Center remaining at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center). The Program Officer is Dr. Sandra Mitchell of the NCI Health Outcomes Branch, and was formerly Dr. Bryce Reeve. The overall Project Manager is Lauren Rogak.  A consortium of subcontractors was established with site investigators at selected organizations providing content expertise applicable to the overall initiative. Subcontract cancer centers include Dana-Farber (Dr. Deborah Schrag); Mayo Clinic (Drs. Jeff Sloan and Amylou Dueck); MD Anderson (Drs. Charlie Cleeland and Tito Mendoza); Duke University (Dr. Amy Abernethy); Emory University (Dr. Deb Bruner); and Memorial Sloan Kettering (Drs. Jennifer Hay and Thomas Atkinson). Subcontracts with SemanticBits LLC as technology developer, FACITtrans to develop language translations, and Perceptive Informatics for automated telephone technology were also established.  Key participants from across NCI divisions and FDA participation were also included, as well as patient advocate representatives (see below roster).

The RFP and SOW for the initial announcement, as well as sections of the response are posted as attachments to this page. Briefly, the overall scope of the initiative was divided into 9 discrete Tasks, with a site investigator designated as team leader for each. Each of these nine Tasks became a working group with independent schedules of meetings/teleconferences to provide its deliverables according to a coordinated schedule for the overall project. Each Task has its own subpage on this Wiki site to which pertinent documents are posted.

The Tasks include:

Task 1: To publish a White Paper outlining barriers and strategies for widespread implementation of the PRO-CTCAE in NCI cooperative groups (status: completed).

Task 2: To identify items in the CTCAE amenable to patient self-reporting, and create patient versions of these items.  This task also includes determining the structure of PRO-CTCAE items and response options (status: completed).

Task 3: To account for issues of cultural/health literacy and respondent diversity throughout the project  (status: completed).

Task 4: To conduct and publish cognitive interviews for items developed in Task 2  (status: completed).

Task 5: To create a PRO-CTCAE web-based open-source technology platform for administration of items in clinical trials, hosted at the NCI  (status: completed).

Task 6: To conduct usability testing to refine the technology platform created in Task 5  (status: completed).

Task 7: To conduct a multicenter study of the measurement properties of the newly developed PRO-CTCAE items, including validity, reliability, sensitivity, and appropriate recall period  (status: completed).

Task 8: To conduct multicenter feasibility studies of the PRO-CTCAE in the NCI cooperative group setting  (status: completed and ongoing).

Task 9: To create print and electronic training/educational materials for the PRO-CTCAE overall system (web platform and questionnaires)  (status: completed).

Task 10: To translate the PRO-CTCAE into Spanish for increased accessibility  (status: completed).

Task 11: Develop an automated telephone (interactive voice response) system as a component of the PRO-CTCAE web platform (subsequently merged with Task 5 above) (status: completed).

Task 12: Conduct usability testing of the automated telephone (interactive voice response) system (subsequently merged with Task 6, above) (status: completed).

Task 13: Subsequently merged with Task 8, above. 

Task 14: Evaluate shared (patient-clinician) vs. stand-alone models of symptom adverse event reporting (status: ongoing).

The overall mission of the PRO-CTCAE initiative is to "Employ rigorous scientific methods to create a system for patient self-reporting of adverse symptoms in cancer trials, which is widely accepted and used; generates useful data for investigators, regulators, clinicians and patients; and is compatible with existing adverse event reporting systems."  The goal is to create a measurement system that is feasible to implement in clinical trials and which enhances understanding of the patient experience with symptomatic adverse events.  For further information about PRO-CTCAE research activities, please contact the PRO-CTCAE project manager, Lauren Rogak: rogakl@mskcc.org.

Conference calls for all task meetings are recorded.

Meetings

Please see individual Task subpages for details of meetings and teleconferences, or contact Lauren Rogak at rogakl@mskcc.org.

Task Teams

The PRO-CTCAE project divided into several task teams, each focused on a specific component of the overall project. Below are the tasks and the prinicples for each task team.

  • Finance Contacts: Yasmeen Majoka (majokay@mskcc.org)
    Brendan Phalan (phalanb@mskcc.org)

Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA) and Personnel List

All investigators and their staff on the personnel list have signed a non-disclosure agreement. This is tracked and held by the project manager at MSK. 

The witness listed for the NDA should be the site investigator or another PI for the contract at your site.

If necessary, please respond and update the personnel list to include all staff members at your institution that will be involved in the contract and/or will have access to the contract data/information.

Questions? - Please contact Yasmeen Majoka (majokay@mskcc.org) or Lauren Rogak (rogakl@mskcc.org).

Security Awareness Courses

All staff must also complete an annual refresher Security Awareness Course (http://irtsectraining.nih.gov), and return a completion certificate to MSK. Please login as "general public."

Questions? - Please contact Yasmeen Majoka (majokay@mskcc.org) or Lauren Rogak (rogakl@mskcc.org).

 

Project Team

  

Personnel

Admin

Ethan Basch
PI, UNC (primary), MSK (secondary)
ebasch@med.unc.edu
919-843-3055

Will Ly
UNC
wly@email.unc.edu
919-962-5415

Sandra Mitchell
Project Officer (II), NCI (DCCPS)
mitchellsa@cc.nih.gov
301-435-6750

---

Kathleen Castro
Project Officer (I), NCI (DCCPS)
castrok@mail.cc.nih.gov
301-596-6642

---

Lauren Rogak
Project Manager, MSK
rogakl@mskcc.org
646-735-8087

---

Deb Schrag
Site PI, DFCI
deb_schrag@dfci.harvard.edu
617-582-8301

Brian Fortier 
Brian_Fortier@dfci.harvard.edu
617-632-5125

Charlie Cleeland
Site PI, MD Anderson
ccleeland@mdanderson.org
713-745-3470

Jackie Calderon
jcaldero@mdanderson.org
713-745-3470

Jeff Sloan
Site PI, MAYO
jsloan@mayo.edu
507-284-9985

Jessica Hess
hess.jess@mayo.edu

Amy Abernethy
Site PI, Duke
abern003@mc.duke.edu
919-668-0647

Laura Criscione
laura.criscione@duke.edu

Deb Bruner
Site PI, Emory
deborah.w.bruner@emory.edu 

Beverley Craft 
bcraft@emory.edu
404-727-8421

Ram Chilukuri
IT Development, SemanticBits
ram.chilukuri@semanticbits.com
703-787-9656 ext 247

---

Jennifer Hay
Investigator, MSK
hayj@mskcc.org
646-888-0039

---

Amylou Dueck
Investigator, Mayo-Arizona
dueck.amylou@mayo.edu

---

Tito Mendoza
Investigator, MD Anderson
tmendoza@mdanderson.org
713-745-3470

---

Vish Viswanath
Investigator, DFCI
vish_viswanath@dfci.harvard.edu
617-632-2225

 

Bryce Reeve
Investigator, UNC
bbreeve@email.unc.edu
919-843-8793

---

Cindy Geoghegan
Patient Advocate
cindy@geogheganmail.com
972-701-2128

---

Diana Paul 
Patient Advocate

---

 Andy Trotti
Investigator, Moffitt
andy.trotti@moffitt.org
813-335-5231

---

Thomas Atkinson
Psychometrician, MSK
atkinsot@mskcc.org
646-888-0089

---

Josh Gagne
Investigator, DFCI

inactive

---

Lauren Becker
Communications, DFCI

inactive

---

Teresa Thomas
Consultant, Fdn for Cancer Research

inactive

---

Marwan Shouery
Programmer, MSK
shouerym@mskcc.org
646-735-8134

---

Paul Baumgartner
Technical Project Manager, SemanticBits
paul.baumgartner@semanticbits.com

---

Amey Sane 
Software Engineer, SemanticBits
amey.sane@semanticbits.com

---

Ramakrishna Gundala
Technical Lead, SemanticBits
ramakrishna.gundala@semanticbits.com

---

Lori Minasian
NCI (DCP)
minasilo@mail.nih.gov
301-496-8541

---

Andrea Denicoff
NCI (DCTD)
denicofa@mail.nih.gov
301-435-9182

---

Ann O'Mara
NCI (DCP)
omaraa@mail.nih.gov
301-496-8541

---

Ann Setser
Consultant
setsera123@sbcglobal.net

formerly of CBIIT, NCI

---

Gordon Willis
NCI (DCCPS)
willisg@mail.nih.gov
301-594-6652

---

Alice Chen
NCI (DCTD)
chenali@mail.nih.gov
301-496-1196

---

Steven Clauser
NCI (Outcomes Research Branch)

inactive, currently at PCORI

---

Julia Rowland
NCI (Office of Cancer Survivorship)
rowlandj@mail.nih.gov
301-402-2746

---

Ted Trimble
NCI (CTEP)
trimblet@mail.nih.gov
301-496-2522

---

Diane St. Germain
NCI (DCP)
dstgermain@mail.nih.gov
301-496-8541

---

Shanda Finnigan
NCI (CTEP)
finnigas@mail.nih.gov
304-435-9106

---

Joseph Kelaghan
NCI (DCP)

inactive, retired

---

Jana Eisenstein 
Research Associate, NCI (DCCPS)
jana.eisenstein@nih.gov
301-594-3818

---

Christo Andonyadis
NCI (Bioinformatics)

inactive

---

Mike Montello
NCI (CTEP)
montellom@mail.nih.gov
301-435-9206

---

Laurie Burke
Advisor, FDA (CDER; SEALD)

inactive, retired

---

Gini Kwitkowski
FDA (OODP)
virginia.kwitkowski@fda.hhs.gov
301-796-2318

---

Ann Marie Trentacosti
FDA (CDER)
annmarie.trentacost@fda.hhs.gov

---

Kathy Fedenko, OODP
FDA (OODP)
katherine.fedenko@fda.hhs.gov

---

Paivi Miskala
FDA (SEALD)
paivi.miskala@fda.hhs.gov

---

Roxana Damian
Finance, MSKCC
damianr@mskcc.org
646-735-8110

Brendan Phalan
Finance, MSKCC
phalanb@mskcc.org
646-735-8167