NIH | National Cancer Institute | NCI Wiki  

Collaboration groups allow researchers to share data among members of the group.

Access to Groups

  • If you are logged in as a curator, you can manage (create, edit, and remove) all collaboration groups in caNanoLab and view a list of samples assigned to each group.
  • If you do not have the curator role, you can manage (create, edit, and remove) only your own collaboration groups.

This chapter describes how to manage collaboration groups in caNanoLab. Topics in this chapter include:

Reviewing a Collaboration Group and the Samples

To review the samples associated with a collaboration group

  1. Click Groups.
  2. Click Manage Collaboration Groups. The Manage Collaboration Groups page displays existing collaboration groups at the top.
  3. To review the samples assigned to a collaboration group, find the group name and click + next to the name.
    Group Samples
  4. If there are associated samples, samples appear in a table under the group name with the same columns as the sample search results (as described in Sample Search Results), except for the Actions column.
  5. To update a sample, click the hyperlinked sample name. 
  6. You can edit, copy, and delete the sample and share the sample with other users and user groups.

Creating a Collaboration Group

Collaboration groups allow researchers to share data among members of the group.

To create a new collaboration group

  1. Click Groups.
  2. Click Manage Collaboration Groups. The Manage Collaboration Groups page displays existing collaboration groups at the top.
  3. Scroll past the existing groups. Next to New Collaboration Group, click Add. The collaboration group information panel opens at the bottom of the page.
  4. Enter the Name of the group, which is required, and a Description of the group.
  5. To add a user to the group:
    1. Next to User, click Add.
    2. Enter part or all of the User Login Name and click Search for User. Next to that button, a list of users appears, with all users that match the entry.
    3. From the list of users, select a user name. The field populates the User Login Name.
    4. Click Save. The system adds the user to the list of users for the group. 

    Add a collaboration group

    Setting Up Read or Read-Update-Delete Access

    When the collaboration group is associated with a protocol, sample, or publication, Read-only or Read-Update-Delete access is specified at that time.

  6. To delete a user, click Delete next to the user's login name.

  7. After you have added all of the users to the group, click Save. The system adds the group to the list of groups on the Manage Collaboration Groups page.

Return to top of page

Editing a Collaboration Group

To edit a collaboration group

  1. Click Groups.
  2. Click Manage Collaboration Groups. The Manage Collaboration Groups page displays existing collaboration groups at the top.
  3. Find the group to edit and display the right side of the row. Click Edit.
    Edit a collaboration group
    The Collaboration Group Information panel opens at the bottom of the page.
  4. Update the Name and Description of the group as needed.
  5. To add a user to the group:
    1. Next to User, click Add.
    2. Enter part or all of the User Login Name and click Search for User. Next to that button, a list of users appears, with all users that match the entry.
    3. From the list of users, select a user name. The field populates the User Login Name.
    4. Click Save. The system adds the user to the list of users for the group. 

    Setting Up Read or Read-Update-Delete Access

    When the collaboration group is associated with a protocol, sample, or publication, Read-only or Read-Update-Delete access is specified at that time.

  6. To delete a user, click Delete next to the user's login name.
  7. When you are done updating the group, click Save. The system updates the collaboration group.

Return to top of page

Deleting a Collaboration Group

To delete a collaboration group

  1. Click Groups.
  2. Click Manage Collaboration Groups. The Manage Collaboration Groups page displays existing collaboration groups at the top.
  3. Click Edit corresponding to an existing collaboration group. The collaboration group information panel opens at the bottom of the page.
    Delete a collaboration group
  4. Click Delete, and confirm the deletion. The system removes the collaboration group from the list.

Return to top of page


  • No labels